top of page

CRAZY GENEROSITY

As I write this, my oldest son is celebrating his 18th birthday. Luke has so many great qualities, but I think the one that stands out the most to me is his generosity. Several weeks ago right after he had purchased his first car, he was grabbing a bite of lunch in a drive-through. As he pulled up to the window, he felt "compelled" to buy the meal of the person who was behind him. I'm not sure why he did this. He's saving up for college and has a new car payment. It's not like he's rolling in the dough. After telling the person at the window that he wanted to buy the meal of the person behind him, he waited for the total. If he had looked, he would have probably seen that it was a 15 passenger van with a bumper sticker that read, "My quiver is bigger than your quiver!" The total was over $20! He told me later that day that he was tempted to just say, "Never mind...I'll just get the next compact car." He didn't do that. I guess that's what makes me so proud. He decided to go ahead with his commitment. "I said I was going to do it...so I'm going to do it!" In the past year, Luke has done several things like this. I honestly don’t think he’s trying to get attention. He just likes helping people. He’s doing it because he wants to.

When I think about Luke's example, I’m reminded of another crazy example in Scripture. Listen to how the Apostle Paul described one little church's generosity: "Now I want you to know, dear brothers and sisters, what God in His kindness has done through the churches in Macedonia. They are being tested by many troubles, and they are very poor. But they are also filled with abundant joy, which has overflowed in rich generosity. For I can testify that they gave not only what they could afford, but far more. And they did it of their own free will. They begged us again and again for the privilege of sharing in the gift for the believers in Jerusalem. They even did more than we had hoped, for their first action was to give themselves to the Lord and to us, just as God wanted them to do." (2 Corinthians 8:1-5)

Talk about crazy generosity! They gave above and beyond what they were able to give, but their generosity didn’t stop there. It actually made them happy to give this way, even when things weren’t going well in their own lives. “God really loves a cheerful giver.” (2 Corinthians 9:7) Like Luke, they weren't pressured to give; they just did it because they wanted to. I think I know where all this craziness comes from. These people had dedicated themselves to Christ and all they could say was, “Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift!” (2 Corinthians 9:15) Here’s a warning. When you give yourself to God, you might start looking a little crazy.

Has anything like this ever happened to you? Have you ever felt "compelled" to show crazy generosity to a random stranger, a church, a friend going on a mission’s trip or a family raising money to adopt? We often think about the impact our generosity is going to have on the person we are trying to bless. I'd like to think the blessing is ours. It can also be a good opportunity to share the radical generosity of Jesus Christ. After all, He gave up everything. We give, because He first gave to us. Grace, like generosity looks crazy to some people. Think about it, you’re getting something you don’t deserve. That’s crazy! So as we remember what Christ has done for us, let’s be generous to someone today.

Happy birthday son! Thank you for following Christ's example and in turn for

giving your old dad a great example as well. People are going to think you're crazy, but don't ever stop giving...don't ever stop loving. The Bible says "It is more blessed to give than receive." Be blessed today my boy...and stay crazy.

featured posts
recent posts
search by tags
No tags yet.
commune with me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page