top of page

GET IN THE GAME!


Football season is here. How do I know this? It's EVERYWHERE! From the TV commercial advertisements to the endless commentary from my friends, football has taken center stage. I've never been much of a football fan. Basketball was always my sport of choice. But I have to give it up to you football fanatics...ummm...I mean...fans. You guys (and girls) are committed...especially where I live. Football is almost like a religion in the state of Ohio. This is where I am supposed to shout O.H.....I.O! I'm really not that committed, I just know the jargon. These Buckeyes are real cheerleaders. They wear their colors proudly and when someone from Michigan gets in their face, they don't back down. I have friends who would call themselves "casual spectators." Like me, they would probably rather watch a re-run of The Walking Dead or a UFC fight, but they can occasionally be entertained by an exciting football game. I also have a few friends who would call themselves "armchair quarterbacks." Nicely put, this is a person who offers an opinion about something they have no business talking about. They are certain they can make better decisions than the coaches and players who are actually involved in the game. It is actually kind of fun listening to them though. The players and the coaches...now these are the people I admire the most. More than likely, the coach is probably a former player who knows the game and is seriously involved in the success of the team. When a coach doesn't perform well, the fans get upset. I say give him a break. His salary and his job depends on winning. That's a lot of stress! Now the players are the ones who actually practice and perform on the field. They're the ones who bleed and sweat and sacrifice to achieve what the rest of us only dream about. The coaches and the players are ones who have skin in the game. They are the ones who are doing most of the work.

The sad thing is, many people approach Christianity in the same way that some approach the game of football. For example, there are some who think they understand what it means to be a Christian...even more than Christ Himself. In their not so humble opinion, they have a grasp on deeper spiritual truths simply because they understand Wayne Grudem or have memorized most of John MacArthur's sermons. I would call these people "armchair theologians." They are really good at letting others know what they know. Like the armchair quarterbacks, they can talk a good talk, but you don't see them doing much work. They know what a good sermon should sound like, where your children should attend school and what books to avoid, but at the end of the day, all they've got are a few incomprehensible quotes from some really deep Bible commentary.

There are others who casually approach Christianity the same way I approach football. If they can be entertained, they might show up for an occasional church service. Praying for longer than five minutes can be a chore, but you might catch them attending War Room with a few of their faithful Christian friends. Simply put, they admire committed Christians and can play the role of a Christian, but they’re not quite like the players or coaches out on the football field. You won't find these people in a small group or on a mission trip. That's just a bit too radical for the casual Christian.

I personally believe churches need more committed players and coaches out on the field. We need men and women of integrity who aren't afraid to stand up to wrong...inside and outside of the church. People who aren't afraid to get on the front line and take a few hits. They might get knocked down and have to sit on the side line for a few plays, but before you know it, they're right back in the game The Bible calls this person a "DOER of the Word" "Don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves." (James 1:22) Don't get me wrong, it's VERY important to know what the Bible says. It's equally important to study and memorize Scripture, but sooner or later you have to get out on the field.

I find it interesting when James goes on to describe what it looks like to be a "doer of the Word" that he uses a very practical example to prove his point. "Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress..." (James 1:27a) Wow! In other words, it's not just enough for me to memorize and believe what Isaiah 1:17 says about "Seeking justice, helping the oppressed, defending the cause of orphans and fighting for the rights of widows." We are called to action. Look at all those action verbs! Love cares, love seeks, love helps, love defends, love fights!

What I'm about to say will come as no suprise to those who know me best. The process of adopting my fourth child (Toby) kept me from giving up on the church. I wanted out of the game. I was ready to quit. The religious people who thought they knew the most about God had disappointed me greatly. I've heard that human beings never behave more badly toward one another than when they believe they are protecting God. But it wasn't what others did to me or what they said about me that hurt the most...It's what I did to myself. I also discovered a serious disconnect between this KNOWING and DOING in my own life. I was looking for affirmation and joy in all the wrong places. So just when I was ready to walk away from the ministry, adoption kept me focused on what really mattered. It was a simple reminder of what Christ did for me; a "worthless" spiritual orphan, who needed a forever home. God took all of my flaws and all of the flaws that I had seen and heard in the church, and He finally made it "pure and genuine." God's in the redemption business. All He required of me was simple obedience. Adoption literally got me back in the game.

So, here we are again on the sidelines, battered and bruised by a few hard hits, but we're itching to get back on the field. In other words, we've decided to adopt again. We've been matched with a beautiful, four-year old Deaf girl named Talia. Our goal is to bring her home by March, 2016. To keep the football analogy going... In the second half, we've decided to kick it up a notch by ministering to the needs of a precious friend. Her name is Peggy Tingen and she is a widow who lives in Burlington, North Carolina. We said to ourselves, "If we're going to obey, let's go all the way. Let's do what the Bible says and minister to both the orphan AND the widow." We are committed to live out what James 1:27 says.

Not too long ago, we were introduced to a ministry called BOTH HANDS. This is a ministry that helps both the orphan and the widow. I know this isn't a typical blog post. It's actually more of an invitation. Please follow this link to see how you can help us bring Talia home and be a part of a team to do simple household tasks for Peggy on October 24. Regardless of where you live, you can get in the game. It would be a pleasure playing on the same team with you. The truth is, you are able to do things that we simply can't do all by ourselves. We need you. Would you consider joining us on the field? Many of you are already in the game. Some of you have prayed. We are asking you to keep praying. Some of you have given financially. Still, others could help us spread the word by posting the above link. As a member of our team, you can get sponsors to help us bring Talia home. Let's see what GOD DOES when WE DO what He wants us to do. Let's get in the game!

.


featured posts
recent posts
search by tags
No tags yet.
commune with me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page